Hiking support and encouragement of one another

Paraclete

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. – 1 Thess 5:11

Today on the club’s 20 mile hike, I had to drop out at the 13 mile checkpoint due to an inflamed knee.  While getting to the checkpoint, I experienced the kind of support by a group of friends I rarely experienced before.

Before dropping out, my hike slowed to a leisure stroll from an energetic pace.  The hiking party kept up their energetic pace except for a few hardy souls who stayed behind with me.  They knew I was hurting and encourage me to continue on the hike to the checkpoint and made sure I was able to physically make it.

As someone who always takes pride in being able to do some of the tougher hikes, it was a quite an humbling experience to need support and help on the trail.

It taught me what the value of friendship means: being able to sacrifice of yourself and give encouragement to others.

 

Leave a Reply

