C# value data types used for industrial automation

Now that the design is finished and development is started, its time to document my development.

I will start at the basics.  Let’s look at the various C# datatypes and their byte sizes.  This will become apparent when we look at structures, byte arrays and memory mapped files.

I am developing an industrial automation project which gathers its data from a PLC as UDP messages at an interval between 55msec and 100 msec.

We are also using a SQL Server 2008 database to store the production data for long term storage and reporting.

The user interface will use windows forms.  However, I need to explore Ajax and Silverlight to verify that these products can provide the performance needed.

But, right now, I am developing the base classes to manage memory mapped files, UDP connections, and MSMQ queues.

C# has two kinds of data types: value types and reference types.  The reference types are defined as classes or objects; they are not pointers (Sidenote: pointers are available in C# but only to be used in unsafe code).  The value type means that these types contain their values directly.  These types are also knows as simple types and primitive types.

C# Data Types
Type Nbr Bits Definition
Bool 8 True/False logical values
Byte 8 8-bit unsigned integer
char 8 One (1) unicode character. This is the not same as byte.
double 64 Double-precision floating point value. This is most widely used of the floating point values in C# because many of the math functions using the double datatype
float 32 Single-precision floating point value. This data type is the one I use to communicate with the PLC since their floating point size is a maximum of 32 bits
int 32 Integer value. This data type is the one I use to transfer integer values with the PLC
long 64 Long integer value. I rarely use this value for I don’t need numbers as large as this provides, but I do use it to keep track of time (ticks).
sbyte 8 A signed byte which is equivalent to C/C++ char data type.
short 8 A signed short integer. For those times when I need to transfer a 16-bit integer with the PLC, I use this data type.
uint 32 An unsigned integer. For those times when I need to transfer a 32-bit packed integer, I use this data type.
ulong 64 An unsigned long integer.
ushort 64 An unsigned short integer. For those times when I need to transfer a 16-bit packed integer, I use this data type./td>
Leave a Reply

